NaNoT Quite.

Ugh! This year’s NaNoWriMo project isn’t going nearly as well as previous years’ endeavors. My word count is dismal, I’m about 10,000 words behind and judging from the looks of the coming week, it’s not going to improve much between now and the end of the month.

But I will not lose hope just yet. I’ve been promised some good writing time. We have a day off on the 12th (although we’ll be getting the place ready for Thanksgiving AND a fireplace insert, so writing will come much later in the day, if at all), and conferences during the week so I could come home a couple hours early once or twice that week and eke out a few extra words. There’s the day after Thanksgiving that may or may not see us traveling to the beach, however I WILL take some time to get words in during that long weekend.

It feels strange to be this far behind on something I love as much as I do NaNoWriMo. There are some folks out there who poo-pooh the idea of writing like this, and some who don’t like the “win or lose” mentality associated with it. But I’m of the opinion that anything that gets a writer to write, to unclog any blocks, is a good thing. The win/lose aspect of it does kind of bother me, but I look at it as a goal and if I achieve it then I’m pleased, if I don’t… well, I’ve not had to deal with that yet, so I’m hoping this won’t be the year I get to experience it. 🙂

The manuscript I’m working on this year is something new, so what I’ll have is the first draft/outline that I’ll be able to use later on. But at least the idea is down and won’t be forgotten. Barring any ugly technological catastrophes, anyway.

So, if you’re working on NaNoWriMo, I hope you’re doing well, and if you’re not, I hope you’re happy with what you have and that you’ll keep working on it even after November ends.

I know I will. 

About Ms. Karen

This is what happens when you live with a writer: there are pens everywhere, except by the phone; notebooks...so many notebooks with strange scribblings that make no sense but must never be thrown away; and long rambling monologues about what certain characters would, or would not do in a given situation. It's almost as difficult as living with an artist. Man, THOSE people are bizarre...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoT Quite.

  1. “NaNoT Quite. | A Novel Place” was indeed a relatively awesome blog,
    . Keep composing and I’m going to keep on reading through! Thanks a lot ,Mira

    Like

We Love It When You Comment!

