Northwest Bookfest 2012

Today was exceptionally fine. I was fortunate to be able to attend Northwest Bookfest 2012 in Kirkland (nwbookfest.com). It had been a few years since I’d been to one, and I was looking forward to it.

Especially the part where I’d be able to hear best-selling author, J.A. Jance speak. It’s something I try not to miss whenever I have the opportunity. My friend and I got to the event in plenty of time, not realizing that we were missing one of the seminars I’d wanted to attend, but had we been there, we wouldn’t have made it to see Ms. Jance, so…

The Bookfest itself wasn’t quite what I expected. They’ve had to change the venue several times, going from an old Naval base hangar, to an elementary school, and finally to Peter Kirk park in Kirkland.

I liked the first two places much better. While the park is lovely, it’s inconvenient if you have difficulty walking; getting from one place to another to see everything is next to impossible. At least when it was in one place, you could go from one event to another and only miss a few minutes.

We also missed several vendors because we weren’t exactly sure where they were, and by the time we had it figured out, it was time to head home.  But I did get a nice holiday gift, and I got to visit with a few very nice people before leaving. At least parking was free, even if we did have to walk around the block (which may not sound like much unless your knees are in need of replacement, then it’s quite the hike).

Signage was almost adequate, but there were volunteers that roamed freely, guiding lost souls looking for books. Unfortunately their directions did not always mesh well with my ability to follow them, considering I’d never been to the park before and knew none of the landmarks.

Still, it was a good time that I was able to share with a friend, and I got to shake the hand of an author I admire as a bonus.

Maybe next year, I’ll see about getting a table of my own to set up…providing I can find my way around again. 😉

About Ms. Karen

This is what happens when you live with a writer: there are pens everywhere, except by the phone; notebooks...so many notebooks with strange scribblings that make no sense but must never be thrown away; and long rambling monologues about what certain characters would, or would not do in a given situation. It's almost as difficult as living with an artist. Man, THOSE people are bizarre...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Northwest Bookfest 2012

  1. Selma says:

    You should set up your own table. That would be fantastic. You could have your books there and Tam could make some of her delicious snacks. You should do it!

    Like

We Love It When You Comment!

