Conundrum

I’ve run into a ridiculous problem, one that I’m rather embarrassed to discuss here, but I really would like some input. The manuscript is almost ready for publishing, the cover art should be done by the end of the week. That means, next week, things should start happening.

My problem? Under what name should I publish my work? I have a decent pseudonym, one that my partner and I thought up all by ourselves. One that would give me a last name starting with M instead of W. But at the same time, publishing under a name that isn’t mine would confuse the hell out of my mother when she asks about the book.

It might confuse me.

And then there will be the question: Why? What’s wrong with the name you have?

My answer? I have no idea what I was thinking, but I do have other manuscripts out there that are not of this genre that I plan on publishing and I’ve heard that many multi-genre authors will give each genre it’s own pen name. Then there’s the part where the name I have now is associated with my former spouse. While that’s not bad, if I actually do make it big, how will they feel having “their” name associated with diverse couples?

ACK!!!

Thoughts?

About Ms. Karen

This is what happens when you live with a writer: there are pens everywhere, except by the phone; notebooks...so many notebooks with strange scribblings that make no sense but must never be thrown away; and long rambling monologues about what certain characters would, or would not do in a given situation. It's almost as difficult as living with an artist. Man, THOSE people are bizarre...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Conundrum

  1. lissa says:

    I think whatever name you choose, should be something that you don’t might being call in person. I can understand why someone wouldn’t use their real name. I have the same issue. I really prefer a pseudonym as I didn’t quite like my name. but there are authors who write under pseudonyms and also uses their real name. it’s a strange dilemma but I’m sure you’ll be able to decide.

    hope you have a sweet spring.

    Like

  2. Selma says:

    I like pen names, especially if you plan on writing in a few different genres. So many writers do it. Look at Stephen King and Ruth Rendell. C.S. Lewis did it too, so did George Orwell and Lewis Carroll. You are in good company, for sure!

    Like

We Love It When You Comment!

