Updates: EXCITEMENT!

Last week was quite an exciting one for the writer’s club. We had our regularly scheduled meeting, then the very next day, we were visited by the one and only Janet S. Wong! You can find her here at http://www.janetwong.com. I’d make that a link for you but WordPress is being difficult and I’m tired of fighting it.

Oh. My. BRAINS!

Dear Readers, let me tell you that woman is FABULOUS! She’s great with kids (even my know-it-all middle school darlings) and really got them excited about publishing. When I mentioned our anthology, she got very excited and based her talk on how we could be published for free! She’s working with Create Space on her latest writing endeavor and has liked it. Best of all, it’s free!

She talked to us about how we could use it to raise money for the club and everyone was all excited about that.

Unfortunately, the next Monday, that bubble was burst when we discovered we aren’t set up to be a fund-raising type of club and therefore we won’t be able to take advantage of her idea this year.

But that still doesn’t stop my group from being excited at the prospect of writing and publishing their own work and selling it on Amazon! I’m excited for them!

In other news…

My Mother’s Day gift… my partner’s daughter has worked up a rough draft of the cover for my first book! Surprise! I’d been putting off doing anything with it until things around the house had settled down a bit (we’re in a crunch time again because we’re getting ready for a garage sale at the end of this month). My Beloved and her daughter put their heads together and surprised me with the artwork.

I’m ashamed that I’d let it slip for so long. I’d mentioned it to her a year ago, and her lack of enthusiasm told me I’d best seek someone else to do it for me. Little did I know that the seed had been planted and her mother called in a favor of her artist daughter. That explains all the questions about the manuscript (which would have been answered much easier had she actually read the story, but she’s been up to her eyeballs in her own alligators, so adding one more of mine to her pile would not have been met with joy).

Now I must research with earnest how I want to publish. While Create Space is free, it’s only through Amazon. I cannot sell it to anyone who doesn’t shop online, or who doesn’t have a Kindle.

I have a Nook.

Anyway, there are all kinds of ways I can go, I just need to sit myself down, look at the numbers, and make it all happen.

This is turning out to be a rather exciting time… a pleasantly exciting time at that!

About Ms. Karen

This is what happens when you live with a writer: there are pens everywhere, except by the phone; notebooks...so many notebooks with strange scribblings that make no sense but must never be thrown away; and long rambling monologues about what certain characters would, or would not do in a given situation. It's almost as difficult as living with an artist. Man, THOSE people are bizarre...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Updates: EXCITEMENT!

  1. Sagacious Woman says:

    HooRay for a great writer’s group meeting and your Mother’s Day gift! You must be floating on air 🙂

    Sagacious Woman

    Like

  2. Selma says:

    Your writer’s group is going so well, Karen. Very inspiring.

    I AM VERY EXCITED ABOUT YOUR BOOK!!!! Have you looked into Amazon’s Kindle Direct Programme? I don’t have a Kindle but I have downloaded the Kindle App onto my Mac so I can read e-books. I’m pretty sure you can also get the App for PCs so don’t let the thought that some people might not have a Kindle deter you. I’ll research it for you and let you know. Anyhoo, whatever happens I am tremendously pleased you have gotten to this point. It is truly wonderful. YIPPEEEEE!!!!!!!

    Like

  3. Karen says:

    I’ve been doing a lot of research and going back and forth on who and how, and I think I may have narrowed it down to Smashwords (although I’ve heard they can be difficult when it comes to formatting), but they’re reasonably priced and I can set my own price as well. That’s not something you can do with the other companies. I’m still sorting through all the stuff though. I’ll be sure to keep everyone posted.

    In fact, I’m thinking I may dump my research into a post. Why waste all that digging when someone else might benefit from it. 🙂

    Once I’ve sold a few e-books, I’m going to attempt to have it put into a regular book (again, indie publishing is the direction I’d like to go) and that will be another can of worms I’ll get to sift through.) My biggest peeve about indie publishing is not being able to set my own price. They seem to be prohibitively expensive (15.00 US) either that, or I’m just a cheap-assed penny pincher.

    Like

We Love It When You Comment!

