A Fine Kettle of Fish

The title isn’t quite fitting of the issue, but for the life of me, I cannot think of the phrase that best describes my current problem. So I went with whatever came to my fuzzy, pain-medicated brain.

All right, I find that I am in a quandary, one of which that is not easily resolved. I am in the polishing edit phase of my manuscript, and since I’m going to attempt to self-publish (in print and electronically), I need a cover. Rather, I need cover art, and I have no idea where to go or what to do.

I attempted to work with an artist, but since she has not read the book, nor has she any desire to do so, generating artwork that would carry on the theme for the story would be difficult at best. The other problem I have is that I cannot afford to pay much for said artwork, but the aforementioned artist owes her mother a great deal of money and the work would be done in lieu of monetary payment of said debt.

The publisher I would like to work with will knock two-hundred dollars off the fees if I supply my own art, or I can have them do it for me. I’m torn. They are professionals, they know what they’re doing, they know what sells, they know what looks ridiculous on book shelves and they know what motivates people to give that tome a closer look. I, however, know only what catches my eye but I do not have the skills to accomplish the scene…or…whatever.

So, now I must divide my time between completing the editing and finding suitable cover art. Any suggestions?

About Ms. Karen

This is what happens when you live with a writer: there are pens everywhere, except by the phone; notebooks...so many notebooks with strange scribblings that make no sense but must never be thrown away; and long rambling monologues about what certain characters would, or would not do in a given situation. It's almost as difficult as living with an artist. Man, THOSE people are bizarre...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Fine Kettle of Fish

  1. Selma says:

    You are a very good photographer, Karen. Have you thought about using a photo and digitally altering it? You could have a woodland scene or something like that and photoshop some people into it as well as the title. If you don’t have Photoshop you will be surprised how many inexpensive photo editing apps there are out there that let you meld art, text and photography. I actually think you have the skills to design the cover yourself. Let me look into this and I’ll get back to you. The most exciting thing is though that I’m going to get to read (and buy) your finished book *happy dancing right now*

    Like

  2. Selma says:

    I just thought of something. Heather from Not Hannah is very good with Photoshop. It would be worth asking her for some ideas or help. She has a very good eye!

    Like

  3. I was JUST about to volunteer my services. For realzers.

    Like

We Love It When You Comment!

