Sorting the Details

The closer we get to November, the more excited I’m getting about the next installment of my book series. Because there are questions that were brought up in the first two books, I figured they’d need answers at some point, so this one will have a few.

One of the biggest sticking points was an artifact or item that would be used to grant the holder a longer life. How would it work? What kind of item? Single use or…? What characters would be returning for this, and what new ones would be introduced? Why are certain characters being sent off to do the dirty work, while our new friends are sitting back, waiting for things to get interesting?

My partner, patient and good-natured soul that she is, even went so far as to help me out with some role-playing between characters and what they might say in the beginning. What will be in the prologue, and how will the new characters be introduced? We had a blast and laughed ourselves silly.

Then I realized those new characters were going to be a lot of fun to play with and I can see them getting a book of their own one of these days.

Some years NaNoWriMo can be hard to do because the story just doesn’t want to show up, and other years it’s all I can do to keep the story from spilling out in October while we wait for the calendar page to flip one more time. This year? Oh, it’s a struggle to keep all the fun contained. Just like my story, I can’t wait for the green light, so I make a lot of notes in the mean time.

About Ms. Karen

This is what happens when you live with a writer: there are pens everywhere, except by the phone; notebooks...so many notebooks with strange scribblings that make no sense but must never be thrown away; and long rambling monologues about what certain characters would, or would not do in a given situation. It's almost as difficult as living with an artist. Man, THOSE people are bizarre...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sorting the Details

  1. Selma says:

    Karen, I love your enthusiasm. You are such a delight. As a result I am doing NaNoWriMo this year even though I wasn’t going to. I don’t want to miss out on the fun. See how you inspire me??? đŸ˜€

    Like

  2. Ms. Karen says:

    Yay Selma!!! You are my inspiration as well, m’dear! Your writing delights me, and I do hope you enjoy the event as much as I do.

    Like

We Love It When You Comment!

