Keeping it Fresh…?

The “it” of which I refer is writing, specifically the act of writing. Keeping the act of writing fresh is as important as keeping your writing fresh, although I’m not quite certain exactly what “fresh writing” means, but I heard an editor say it at a conference, so it must be true.

Where was I? Yes, yes, keeping the act fresh.

I’ve been doing much better lately, and while I can’t put my finger on why, I have been putting my fingers on the keyboard a lot more lately. Not just the manuscript, but my other blog as well. Then I went and signed up for a post a day thing in October, right before NaNoWriMo begins in November and what was I thinking…?

Oh, but it gets better! To show just how far this madness has spread in my brain, I have signed up to be the advisor for a writing club at the school where I work. I have no idea how many students will show up for this thing, as there hasn’t been a creative writing club at that school in ages.

It was supposed to be a literacy club, but I was afraid that most kids would avoid anything to do with books, because so many of them don’t like to read. They say it’s “boring” or they don’t understand it. Whatever. So, instead of waving a stack of books at them and hope they wander close enough for me to drag them into the library, I figured I’d try a different tactic: If you don’t like what you’re reading, write something you DO like. I’m calling it the Do It Yourself Book club.

I had all these great and glorious plans on how I’d start it, then I went to the Young Writers Program feature of NaNoWriMo and found they’d already done pretty much the exact same thing, only they put it in a booklet and all I need to do is print them up and pass them out.

With luck, I’ll be able to get them revved up and ready to jump into the thrill of November where they will write their own book. Best of all, when they’re finished and they’ve done some editing, they can get a professionally bound copy of their very own novel.

After that, we’ll have write-ins, games (with my favorite Writer’s Scrabble), and I’ll introduce the club to Exquisite Corpses because I love them so much. The poems, not the students. If they really want to raise funds, we could even try to sell a chapbook of poems to the school, but I don’t see that as being too popular. Maybe if they autographed them or something.

I’m getting excited. This might be a good thing for me, and I hope it’s good for the students, too. Wish me luck!

About Ms. Karen

This is what happens when you live with a writer: there are pens everywhere, except by the phone; notebooks...so many notebooks with strange scribblings that make no sense but must never be thrown away; and long rambling monologues about what certain characters would, or would not do in a given situation. It's almost as difficult as living with an artist. Man, THOSE people are bizarre...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keeping it Fresh…?

  1. Selma says:

    It’s very exciting, Karen. I know it’ll be a rewarding experience for you. Can’t wait to hear all about it!

    Like

We Love It When You Comment!

