Momentum

Writing this on the fly, we’re heading out for one last hurrah for the summer…

I’m a bit dazed at the moment. I’ve managed to finish editing the first draft of a manuscript and I’m NOT completely done in by the task. If I’m not mistaken, the last time I edited a manuscript, I didn’t feel like writing for weeks afterward, and editing anything else? Four words: Not. A. Chance. Fancypants.

But this time it went quicker than I expected, but it wasn’t all removing the excess commas and apostrophes that tend to plague my writing, it was real work. Re-writing entire chapters, fine-tuning time lines (oh, my favorite), and doing my best to keep some continuity when it comes to certain plot lines.

Oh, and there are those “she’s asleep, it’s best we leave her that way.” “Agreed.” So they woke her up, moments of WTF. (Writer Totally Forgot)

What I’m saying is, it wasn’t exactly a walk in the park. There were complicated parts that changed a lot of why a character was doing what they were doing, but it made more sense to change it.

Yet my muse is content and ready to dive into another project.

I’m not sure why this is happening, but I’m very happy about it.

How about you? Anything driving your muse these days?

About Ms. Karen

This is what happens when you live with a writer: there are pens everywhere, except by the phone; notebooks...so many notebooks with strange scribblings that make no sense but must never be thrown away; and long rambling monologues about what certain characters would, or would not do in a given situation. It's almost as difficult as living with an artist. Man, THOSE people are bizarre...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Momentum

  1. Selma says:

    I am delighted to hear this, Karen. Brilliant. I am in the middle of finishing a novel at the moment – don’t know where it’s coming from either but I’m glad it’s there. I’ll keep everything crossed for both of us 😀

    Like

We Love It When You Comment!

