Insight

I’ve been doing some editing, which is a very good thing. The best part is that I’ve actually been in the mood to edit, and that is so rare and unusual, I try to take advantage of it whenever it strikes.

Unfortunately, it tends to strike right about the time my partner wants me to clean house, yet when I DON’T want to edit and know I truly MUST edit, I clean. The Queen of Avoidance welcomes you to Her blog… sheesh.

Anyway, after working on a couple chapters earlier today, my favorite slave driver and I were taking a break when she mentioned a site she’d gone to for one of her (other) favorite authors. Jean M. Auel is coming out with her “final” Earth’s Children book and the level of excitement is almost unbearable around here. In order to keep herself occupied while she waits, my partner will visit the site and read the interviews.

“I read this one part where Jean said she was so glad when her characters finally fell in love, and I could totally relate to that! I knew what she was talking about, because it’s the same thing with your characters. I see you going through that kind of thing all the time. Your characters become real, but not in that crazy ‘they really are real’ way…right? You’re not there, are you?”

No, not yet, but maybe some day I will be.

Anyway, as she was telling me about this, I realized that she lives on the threshold of my manuscripts. She sees what I go through, she’s pumped for opinions, ideas, and the ever un-popular “howz-it-done?” question.

She needs a support group. I figure anyone who lives with a writer needs others in that same situation to talk to, because they see that side of the manuscript that no one else sees. They see the blood, the sweat, and the uncontrollable tears. They see the weeks of avoidance and the days of manic writing frenzies. They listen to the ideas that spill out and the one-sided “conversations” about plot, character, and the many directions the story could take before it reaches the end.

And they can’t really tell anyone about it because unless you live with it, you don’t really understand it.

But, just so you and my Love know, I appreciate having her listen to me rant, rave, whine, and howl at the moon.

Be sure you tell your sounding board person they are valued.

About Ms. Karen

This is what happens when you live with a writer: there are pens everywhere, except by the phone; notebooks...so many notebooks with strange scribblings that make no sense but must never be thrown away; and long rambling monologues about what certain characters would, or would not do in a given situation. It's almost as difficult as living with an artist. Man, THOSE people are bizarre...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Insight

  1. Selma says:

    This post is so important because our better halves do need some kind of support, don’t they? i admire the enthusiasm of both you. You certainly keep me going 😀

    Like

  2. Elle says:

    I’m sure it is so confusing for them. I get shy when I start a new writing project, so I hide it! Then a couple of weeks later I reveal what I’ve been up to and my hubby goes “Huh?” It’s a bit like continuing an old conversation when the subject’s been changed, or, worse, when the first part of the conversation occured in your head. I know he battles to keep up with what I’m going on about most of the time!

    Like

We Love It When You Comment!

