Finally! A Direction! Woo-hoo!

I’m thinking I may need a few more exclamation points added for good measure. No, really, this is exciting news and I’m feeling pretty damn good about it.

My intention for NaNo had always been to work on the next book in my current series, picking up where the characters left off, tossing in a few new people to season the pot, and move forward. However, no matter how hard I tried, nothing would set up for me in my thought processes. I thought I had suppressed my desire to keep things moving by insisting that I finish editing the first installment before savoring the luxury of writing another rough draft.

Which would be entirely possible, believe me, but it turns out, that’s not the case. I’m still not quite clear on where the gang is going in the third book, and my mind is very much caught up in the editing of the first, which may change certain details in subsequent stories, so I guess I figured “what’s the point?”

I had kind of lost interest in NaNo, which made me feel very sad. I love NaNoWriMo. I dig that sense of community, common suffering of writer’s cramp and writer’s block (sometimes at the same time), and that lovely “Imustkeeptypingfastinordertogetmywordcountin-crapthisisonlyoneword!” headspace. NaNo makes you put spaces in odd places just to make sure all words are counted. Especially those damn hyphenated phrases. The stress doesn’t thrill me, but knowing there are others out there doing the same thing? Now that thrills me. Ok, “thrills” is kind of strong wording, but you know what I mean. Writing is lonely. Knowing there are others doing the same thing at the same time and suffering the same things makes it less so.

So I began rummaging through my hard drive and found a couple of old skeletons that had been hanging around doing nothing more than collecting pixels and databits and I felt that old spark. They aren’t bad, they’re not what interests me much right now, but they’re worth working on for the next 27 days. They’ll allow me to join in with the rest of the gang, but also let me keep my heart and head in the editing of my other manuscript.

It’s a win-win, or rather “win- win” scenario. Progress on two manuscripts of different genres. At least, that’s my hope. We’ll see if it works.

About Ms. Karen

This is what happens when you live with a writer: there are pens everywhere, except by the phone; notebooks...so many notebooks with strange scribblings that make no sense but must never be thrown away; and long rambling monologues about what certain characters would, or would not do in a given situation. It's almost as difficult as living with an artist. Man, THOSE people are bizarre...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finally! A Direction! Woo-hoo!

  1. daoine says:

    Oh good for you! All the best with it 🙂

    Like

  2. Selma says:

    I don’t think there’s anything wrong with going with a different genre at all. I am all for that. I was going to start book 2 of the novel I wrote last year which is about werewolves etc but I was feeling very depressed and went to see my therapist (GOD! I sound like Woody Allen) and she said write it out. Write it all out. She knows that works for me.

    So I started writing this book about a woman who has decided to kill herself. She tried to before but didn’t succeed. Anyway, every time she tries to do it something happens and she changes her mind. She gives herself 30 days to find enough ordinary beauty in the world to get rid of the suicidal thoughts.

    What has surprised me is not just how this story has poured out of me but how funny it is. A friend of mine read some of it the other day and tears of laughter were pouring down her cheeks.

    I realise I am rambling a bit but what I wanted to say was that a change of genre can be the best thing. It has been for me. I hope it also has been for you!

    Like

We Love It When You Comment!

