Running Around in Circles

I have less than twelve hours before NaNoWriMo begins, and I’m only just starting to think about the plot. I have the characters, and right now they’re in a pretty awkward place. Cole is ill and needs to go to her home world, Claire is worried about baby Sabine, and Stella is furious with Obadiah for his apparent unconcern regarding Sabine’s fate.

There are other characters I’ve been wanting to bring into the play: Bianca, Joachim (and crew), and of course I’d like to bring Drake back into the picture. I know how to get some of these ideas working, but… but… where do I want to go with them THIS year? Do I move forward, put a rush on some rather important details in order to bring in the characters that I want, or do I leave that story line for NEXT year…?

It’s making me crazy. I suppose I should just pick a direction and run with it, and if I change my mind, just switch in mid stream and go with the new story. Word count is what matters for NaNoWriMo, but it’s more than just that for me.

Unfortunately, I never did finish editing the first novel, so I’m even further behind on that score (ack!) but I did make some progress and I’m thinking it will get easier the deeper into it I go. The reason for that is simply because I took my time once November was over… careful writing equals less editing.

Bouncing around from plotline to plotline makes me dizzy. I want to write them all, and eventually I will, but in the mean time I’m still flipping coins to figure out which direction I’ll be going tomorrow. I’m also going to be driving everyone around me equally crazy with this, so it will be an awesome month. Just like every November since I’ve been doing NaNo.

In the mean time, Happy Halloween, and a very Blessed Samhain.

About Ms. Karen

This is what happens when you live with a writer: there are pens everywhere, except by the phone; notebooks...so many notebooks with strange scribblings that make no sense but must never be thrown away; and long rambling monologues about what certain characters would, or would not do in a given situation. It's almost as difficult as living with an artist. Man, THOSE people are bizarre...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running Around in Circles

  1. daoine says:

    I know the feeling. I’m trying to combine three books into one, but first trying to “finish” the book as if I’d already combined it. I received some advice (not sure if I agree yet, though) that you should completely finish writing the first draft before you try to revise because you need to know how it ends and even if you think you know how it will end, you don’t until you actually write it. Then when you know the ending you can foreshadow through the revising. But I don’t know. The new beginning I have to write drags at me: I keep thinking, “I must remember to add x,y,z…” and then I feel overwhelmed.

    Like

  2. Selma says:

    It’s almost as if when we are writing we need a personal assistant to remind us of all the things we need to add or edit or delete. A robot who could read our thoughts would be good. No, a robot who could anticipate our thoughts….
    I think my brain is addled from too much NaNoing.

    Like

We Love It When You Comment!

