“I Have a Bad Feeling About This…”

I am a writer. I am NOT a techno-savvy type who can tell when an “upgrade” will turn into a downfall. At least, not before it happens and I have to spend the next few weeks picking pieces of technology out of my hair and teeth.

Anyway, my computer, a.k.a. The Beast, told me I needed to upgrade something because it will make things happier (including me) and will un-oopsify some security boo-boos. Sorry, I do believe I may have taken a little too much Nyquil last night). While I don’t exactly cotton to changes (and why is my Grandfather writing this?) I’m all for making things more secure around here. Unless it makes it so secure I can’t even open a document or go online to pester my family on Facebook.

But this time they offered me something called “Writer” and I’m all over that. Um, have I mentioned that I’m a bit of a notebook junkie and pen whore? No? Well, I am. If I can write on it and/or with it, I want it. This particular program said it will make blogging easier, professional-looking blogs, etc, blah, blah, blah… yeah, whatever, just let me go have fun hacking my way through the buttons, m’kay?

When it opened, my first thought was, “Oh, shit. I really hope I didn’t fuck up my computer and erase all my documents.” It’s not just paranoia, it’s personal experience screaming in my ear.

The program is supposed to make blogging easier. To be honest, the mechanics of blogging aren’t that difficult. Wait, no, the mechanics ARE difficult. Wait… is writing the words the mechanical part of blogging?

Let me try this again… I can write a blog, that’s fairly easy. What I have the most trouble with is making it look right on the internet. I’m fine with Blogger. I do everything in a Word document, copy/paste it into the thingy, and press publish. Ta-freakin’-dah.

WordPress, however, befuddles and bamboozles me (hi, Grandpa). It will randomly log me out and refuse to let me back in until I get the username AND the password entered… CORRECTLY! I know! What NERVE! And? Once I get there, I have no idea how to change things around (much to Selma’s delight, I’m sure). But this program is supposed to keep this information handy, so all I have to do is find it, click it and away we go. Awesome, right? RIGHT? ooohhh…..

When I opened this Writer program something inside me cringed. I feel rather vulnerable working with this program. It’s almost like there is someone reading what I type as I type it. Not like a keylogger, something different. Maybe it’s just the cold medicine talking, but it’s like the internet has come alive and is peering into my office…

Anyway, we’ll see what happens when I hit “publish.” I’ll either regret it deeply, or dance for joy. Um, too sick to dance, so I’ll just sit quietly and not fall out of my chair. Let me know if this works. Thanks.

(Note: I just found the “save” button, but I have absolutely NO IDEA where this document has been saved. Is it on my computer or somewhere in the ether? Lovely… Also, it uses MSExplorer to post, but I favor Firefox. sigh…)

About Ms. Karen

This is what happens when you live with a writer: there are pens everywhere, except by the phone; notebooks...so many notebooks with strange scribblings that make no sense but must never be thrown away; and long rambling monologues about what certain characters would, or would not do in a given situation. It's almost as difficult as living with an artist. Man, THOSE people are bizarre...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “I Have a Bad Feeling About This…”

  1. Karen says:

    editing is a pain in the ass, too.

    joy. elation. yippie.

    damn.

    Like

  2. daoine says:

    I hope it all works out. I can see this post (obviously). 😉

    Like

  3. Selma says:

    Hahaha. You crack me up, Karen. I think you need a WordPress intervention. WordPress really is your friend, you know that, don’t you??? LOLZ.

    Like

  4. lissa says:

    I don’t use those software that supposively help you in the writing process, they’re usually either useless or too clutter. I use a straight-forward text software called iText Express which has the bare minimal necessity like spellcheck, save, and create new file – that’s all I need.

    hope that software you got helps you somehow

    Like

We Love It When You Comment!

